EMCC conducts pinning ceremony for nurse graduates


Forty-three graduates of East Mississippi Community College’s Associate Degree Nursing and Surgical Technology programs participated in a pinning ceremony the morning of  Nov. 24, in the Lyceum Auditorium on the college’s Golden Triangle campus.

Social distancing guidelines outlined by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention were followed during the ceremony that was limited to the graduates, EMCC administrators and faculty and staff from the college’s Division of Nursing and Allied Health.

In his charge to the graduates, EMCC President Dr. Scott Alsobrooks said they would experience difficult days in their chosen profession and asked them to remember to take care of themselves.

“If you do not intentionally set aside time for yourselves to rest and recuperate from the hard work of serving of others, you will not have the emotional reserve to face those tough days, particularly now during the pandemic,” Alsobrooks said.

Division of Nursing and Allied Health Director Dr. Tonsha Emerson said there were three things she would encourage the graduates to do.

“One, be kind to others,” she said. “Two, lend hope to others. Three, go change the world. We are so proud of you.”

A photo of Surgical Technology instructor and program director Janan Rush was on display during the ceremony. Rush was a popular instructor who passed away in September from injuries she sustained in an automobile accident.

EMCC Vice President of Instruction Dr. James Rush, who is the brother of Janan Rush, told the Surgical Technology graduates his sister was proud of them.          

“I can tell you based on personal experience that she loved her students and she loved this program,” James Rush said.

The Class of 2020 graduates of the Associate Degree Nursing and Surgical Technology programs are: Angela Allen of Columbus; Breland Anderson of Mathiston; Mary Austin Barber of Starkville; Shaquala Boyd of Columbus; Autumn Paige Boydstun of Pontotoc; Kembreanna Brown of Collins; Brandy Carr of Tupelo; Chaday Cistrunk of West Point; Tarica Clark of Porterville; Sherita Cunningham of Prairie; Magen Davis of Columbus; Shelby Edwards of Ackerman; Stephanie Ellis of Columbus; Jenna Kay Frisby of Starkville; Christy Gartman of Caledonia; Arianna Gibson of Columbus; Quandra Evetta Gillespie of West Point; Tiera Gillespie of Starkville; Heather Ham of New Hope; Bailey Jo Johns of Louisville; Kanesha Johnson of Columbus; Scylind McCloud of Columbus; Tiffany McCoy of Artesia; Karimah Mitchell of New Orleans; Ashley Le’Ann Mixon of Columbus; Mia M. Mullin of Columbus; Shelby Lynn Pate of Milport; Lauren Peltier of Biloxi; Lily Pittman of Eupora; Jessica Pruitt of Pheba; Breanna Rivera of Starkville; Caleb Roberson of West Point; Jalexia Skinner of Columbus; Jaquila Staples of Columbus; Taylor Stephenson of Mathiston; Jason Taylor Of Columbus; Elizabeth Underwood of Starkville; Loreana Mae Viera of Pelahatchie; Merri Frances Warnat of Columbus; Sylvia Wedel of Columbus; Angel Weems of Columbus; Lauren Saxony Wilson of Columbus, Regina Yarbrough of Starkville.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions