EMCC announces cheer squad


SCOOBA – East Mississippi Community College’s cheerleading team for the 2020-21 academic year has been announced by first-year EMCC cheer coach Danielle D. McDade.

With seven returning members and 13 newcomers for the upcoming school year, EMCC’s 2020-21 cheerleading team was selected following virtual tryouts held via video submissions.

In addition, EMCC continues to offer a scholarship opportunity for the school’s Leo the Lion mascot position.  Virtual mascot tryouts for the 2020-21 academic year will take place during a two-week span beginning on Friday, July 17th.  Video submissions are due to Coach McDade (dmcdade@eastms.edu) by 5 p.m. on Friday, July 31st.  Interested students who have already applied to East Mississippi Community College should visit the school’s athletics website (www.EMCCAthletics.com) for additional information about EMCC’s virtual mascot tryouts. 

Returning from last year’s EMCC cheerleading squad will be former Neshoba Central High School classmates Sharmon Griffin and Kelsey Tubby, who will be reunited on the Scooba campus this coming fall semester with incoming freshmen Millie Holley, Briana Huddleston and Katie Simmons from last year’s NCHS Rockets cheer squad.  Also back for the Lions are rising sophomores Kadasha Bryant (East Webster HS), Aylayjah Gee (Moundville, AL/Hillcrest HS), Amberly Harden (Oak Hill Academy), Kamryn Moore (Philadelphia HS) and Bethany Washington (Greenville Christian School).

Moore, a Philadelphia product who led Coach Austin McNair’s EMCC softball team with a .516 batting average this past spring during an abbreviated freshman campaign due to the COVID-19 pandemic, will be joined on East Mississippi’s cheer squad by 2020 Lady Lion softball teammates and incoming cheer team members Jenna Coker (Grenada HS), Kelli Hollingsworth (Newton County Academy) and KeraGrace Watts (Mandeville, LA/Northlake Christian School).

Another reunion of cheer teammates will take place between Washington and incoming EMCC freshman McKenzie Jones, who previously cheered together at Greenville Christian School.

EMCC’s 20-member cheerleading team for the upcoming 2020-21 academic year will also include first-year members Autumn Beal (West Marion HS), Aislynn Cochran (Canton Academy), Keilyn Conley-Tate (Starkville HS), Lauren Lairy (West Point HS), Blair Lathem (Sebastopol HS) and Ashley Walker (Lamar School).

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions