District 32 absentee voting open


Eligible Kemper County voters who would like to vote absentee are able to do so in person through this Saturday at noon at the circuit clerk’s office in the Kemper County Courthouse. Mail absentee votes must be postmarked by Nov. 23, which is Election Day.

Minh Duong and Rod Hickman finished at the top of a nine-person special election ballot to fill the vacant District 32 seat in the Mississippi State Senate which was held on Nov. 2.

All eligible voters, whether they voted in the Nov. 2 election or not, can vote in the run-off this coming Tuesday.

Absentee voting will continue today (Thursday) and Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. and on Sunday from 8 a.m. until noon. On Election Day, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Kemper County Circuit Clerk Shirley Steele Jackson said that absentee voting had been slow at this point and that 142 absentee ballots were counted on Election Day for the special section. She noted she wasn’t expecting a big increase for the run-off but noted, “I love surprises.”

The Kemper County voting precincts by district are as follows:

— District 1: Scooba A-L, City hall in Scooba; Scooba M-Z, Human Services Building in Scooba; Farmers Market in DeKalb.

— District 2: The DeKalb Library; Porterville Fire Department; Kemper Springs Community Center.

— District 3: Little Rock Community Center; Fort Stevens, Bella Villa Community Center; Damascus Community Center.

— District 4: Old Lynville School; Preston Fire Department; Kellis Store, Spring Hill Fire Department.

— District 5: Courthouse A-L at Kemper County Courthouse; Courthouse M-Z, Kemper County Courthouse; Mt. Nebo Fire Department.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions