By Steve Swogetinsky

Kemper Messenger

 District 5 supervisor Chris Cole defeated challenger Chandler “Bernard” Rush in the Democrat primary runoff that was held last Tuesday.

Cole received 533 votes to Rush’s 374 votes.  Cole advances to the General Election on November 5 against Independent candidate Christy Harbour Hamilton.

The race was tighter in the August 6 primary race.  Cole had the most votes in the Democratic primary with 305. Rush had 282 votes and Helen Shan Roberts had 66.

The only other local Democrat primary runoff race was for Constable Place 2 in which Michael T. Oliver defeated incumbent Randy Thornton 427 votes to 292. In the earlier primary election, Oliver had 447 votes to Thornton’s 232 votes while Jurlean Brown had 226 votes. Oliver will now face Independent Samuel Tisdale Jr. in the General Election.

One other supervisor won in the Democrat Primary and now faces an Independent candidate in November. District 2 incumbent supervisor Johnny B. Whitsett faces Independent Rusty Calbert.

Incumbent supervisors Justin Creer (District 3) and Mike Luke (District 4) did not have opponents in the Democratic primary and now face independent candidates in the November primary. Scott Johnson is challenging Creer and Marcell Chamberlain is challenging Luke.

Incumbent District 1 supervisor James “Pat” Granger defeated two challengers in the Democrat primary election. He does not have an opponent in November.

There also will be contested races in the General Election for sheriff, circuit clerk and Constable Place 1.

Sheriff James Moore did not have an opponent I the Democratic Party primary. He now faces Scooba police chief Steven Jackson who is running as an Independent.

Incumbent Circuit Clerk Tracey McCoy Murray did not have an opponent in the Democrat Party primary. She is being challenged by Independent Shirley Steele Jackson in the general election.

Constable Post 1 incumbent Ray C. Williams (Democrat) is being challenged by independent Johnny Griffin.

Peggy Jones Henderson defeated incumbent coroner Terry Bostick in the primary election. Henderson does not have an opponent in November.

Incumbents Chancery Clerk Sherline Dee Dansby Watkins (Democrat), Tax Assessor/collector Joycelyn T. Robertson (Democrat), and Justice Court Judges Post 1 Mary Purvis Gully and Post 2 Linda Sciple Wright will all run unopposed and will go back into office for another four years in January 2020.

State races

There was one Democrat race to be considered on the state level in the runoff elections. In the race for Public Service Commissioner, Central District, Kemper Countians gave Dorothy “Dot” Benford 933 votes to De’Keither A. Stamps’ 324. Stamps won the nomination, however, with 37,298 votes to Benford’s 26,089 votes.

There were two state races in the Republican primary. In the race for governor, Kemper Countians gave the nod to Tate Reeves with 411 votes while Bill Waller Jr. received 172 votes, Also, in the race for Attorney General Lynn Fitch received 374 votes in Kemper County to Andy Taggart’s 191 votes. Reeves and Fitch went on to when the Republican Party nomination and advanced to the November General Election.